

# **Declaration of results of election for the Whangarei District Council** 2022 elections

I hearby declare the results of the elections held on 8 October 2022 for the following offices:

Mayor (one vacancy)	Votes Received
BUDD, Mike (Independent)	5814
COCURULLO, Vince	8157
COUPER, Ken	5037
FLOWER, Brad (Independent)	4675
GREEN, Fiona	1068
JACOB, Nick (Independent)	1660
SHORTLAND, Shaquille	2180
Informal votes received: 43	
Blank votes received: 308	

## I therefore declare Vince COCURULLO to be elected.

# Council

Bream Bay General Ward (two vacancies)	Votes Received
BEAN, Steve (Independent)	2063
COUPER, Ken	2439
HALSE, Phil	2320
SHIRKEY, Shilane	1414
Informal votes received: 0	

Blank votes received: 123

#### I therefore declare Ken COUPER and Phil HALSE to be elected.

Hikurangi-Coastal General Ward (two vacancies)	Votes Received
BENNEY, Gavin	1703
FLOWER, Brad (Independent)	1172
JEEVES, Greg (Independent)	373
MARTIN, Greg	1317
MCKENZIE, Scott	1441
THOMASSON, Tracey	1223
Informal votes received: 3	
Blank votes received: 63	

#### I therefore declare Gavin BENNEY and Scott MCKENZIE to be elected.



Mangakahia-Maungatapere General Ward (one vacancy) REID, Simon John (Independent) ROBERTSON, Iain James Informal votes received: 1	Votes Received 1557 700
Blank votes received: 111 I therefore declare Simon John REID to be elected.	
Whangārei Heads General Ward (one vacancy)	Votes Received
BLACKLEY, David (Independent)	1023
HOLMES, Patrick (Independent)	1851
Informal votes received: 1	1031
Blank votes received: 122	
I therefore declare Patrick HOLMES to be elected.	
Whangārei Urban General Ward <i>(five vacancies)</i>	Votes Received
BROWN, Alan (Independent)	2945
CHRISTIE, Crichton	3079
COCURULLO, Vince	6114
CONNOP, Nicholas Hunter	4121
DOHERTY, Paul	2426
GALLAGHER, Graeme	2149
GOLIGHTLY, Jayne (Independent)	5316
GREEN, Fiona	2192
HASKELL, Ren	1119
MCMILLAN, Glen (Independent)	1003
OLSEN, Marie (Independent)	3564
PETERS, Carol	3998
SAMU, Isopo	2707
SHORTLAND, Shaquille	2255
TITFORD, Jesse	822
WINDLEBORN, Hazely	579
WOOD, Stephen	2034
YOUNG, Adam (Independent)	1165
YOVICH, Paul	3824
Informal votes received: 63	

Blank votes received: 149

I therefore declare Vince COCURULLO, Nicholas Hunter CONNOP, Jayne GOLIGHTLY, Carol PETERS, and Paul YOVICH to be elected.

As Vince COCURULLO has been declared elected mayor to the Whangārei District Council, his name has been withdrawn and the next highest polling candidate Marie OLSEN is declared elected.



Whangārei District Māori Ward (two vacancies)	Votes Received
HARDING, Deb	904
HOPA, Pauline	694
MITCHELL, Simon	513
RUKA, Phoenix (Te Pāti Māori)	889
TANA, Zhairn Zee	266
WAKEFIELD, Nicki	703
Informal votes received: 1	
Blank votes received: 61	

## I therefore declare Deb HARDING and Phoenix RUKA to be elected.

# Dated Whangārei, 14 October 2022

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Whangarei District Council Forum North, Rust Avenue, Whangārei Phone 0800 922 822